Middle Tennessee State University Foundation

The Middle Tennessee State University Foundation was established in 1961 as a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization as recognized by the IRS. The MTSU Foundation is managed by a volunteer Board of Trustees and is staffed by MTSU employees.

The MTSU Foundation’s primary functions are to receive and acknowledge private gifts for the benefit of MTSU. All contributions, donations, gifts, or bequests of personal or real property, including cash, stocks, bonds, insurance policies, real estate, to the University must be made through the Foundation. This process prevents private gifts from being commingled with state funds, and it allows greater flexibility in the use of gifts. The MTSU Foundation maintains the official record of private gifts received on behalf of the University and provides donors with the proper receipts for tax purposes.

Joe Bales, Vice President for University Advancement, serves as the Executive Director of the MTSU Foundation. More than 25 MTSU Foundation Trustees serve three year terms. Foundation investments and operating expenses are managed through the Finance Committee. Additional subcommittees include the Development Committee, Trusteeship Committee, and Special Projects Committee.

Officers of the MTSU Foundation for 2022-2023 are:
Ronald Roberts, President
Brian Kidd, Vice President
Jill Austin, Treasurer
Richard Lewis, Secretary
At-Large Members:
Sonya Leeman
Hanna Witherspoon