Honors Council

The Honors Council meets each semester. The Council is responsible for reviewing and approving departmental courses for Honors credit, as well as Honors Faculty nominations.  All materials for review are placed in D2L.  Meetings take place in the Honors Building Conference Room.  

2023 Honors Council

2023 Honors Council

Left to right: 2022-2023 Honors Council Members: Jason Pettigrew, Jackie Gilbert, John Dougan, John Vile, Jacob Davenport, Teresa Davis, Katherine Mangione, Bethany Wrye, and David Foote.

Dr. Amanda Flagg receives Honor Council Service Award

Dr. Amanda Flagg, Associate Professor in the Department of Nursing, served as Honors Council Chairperson for the 2022 - 2023 academic year.  Dr. John Vile, Dean, and Dr. Philip Phillips, Associate Dean, appreciate our Council Chairs!  

Dr. Amanda Flagg (center) receives Honors Council Award

2023-2024 Honors Council Members:

Name Dept. Term  
 Katherine Mangione (Chair) EDU/Elementary and Special Ed 2019-24
Teresa Davis BHS/Psychology 2022-24
David Foote BUS/Management 2021-24
Jason Pettigrew LA/World Languages, Literatures, and Cultures 2021-24
Mohammed Albakry LA/English 2022-25
Jackie Gilbert JCOB/Management 2022-25
Robert (Steve) Howard BAS/Biology 2022-25
Michelle Stevens EDU/Educational Leadership 2021-25
Janis Brickey BHS/Human Sciences 2023-26
Scott Handy BAS/Chemistry 2023-26
Dianna Rust UC/University Studies 2023-26
Matthew Taylor ME/Journalism 2023-26


Student Representatives:

Name Term

Honors College Staff:

Name Dept. 
Dr. John Vile Dean
Dr. Philip Phillips Associate Dean
Judy Albakry Advisor
Laura Clippard Advisor


decorative image of the honors bells

Honors Advising Information - Fall


MTSU Honors College logo


Follow Us!

Facebook Icon

twitter icon Instagram Logo